Michigan Texting And Driving Accidents

texting and drivingTexting and Driving Laws in Michigan 

Michigan passed a law on July 1, 2010 that made it illegal for people to text and drive. First-time offenders will be charged a fine of $100. People who are caught texting and driving for a second time will be charged a fine of $200.

Dangers of Texting and Driving 

Texting is a distraction. Any time that you take your eyes off of the road, you greatly increase your risk of being involved in an accident. The average person takes their eyes off of the road for 4.6 seconds when they are sending a text message. More teens die in an accident that is caused by texting than in drunk driving accidents.

Texting and driving is not just a teen problem. In fact, nearly half of adult drivers have stated that they have texted while driving. Ninety percent of people have stated they knew that it was dangerous to text and drive.

Even if you manage to avoid hurting someone while driving, there are other consequences that you may face. You are breaking the law and could be charged a hefty fine for doing so. Your insurance may also go up. If you get a ticket for texting and driving, then you can expect to pay a higher premium.

Additionally, you may end up getting into a single-car accident and damaging your car. You may total your car, which is not cheap to repair or replace.

Call Wigod & Falzon  

You need to call a Southfield accident attorney if you have been involved in an accident that was caused by texting. Your case will be reviewed by Michigan no fault attorneys. We will then determine whether you are eligible for compensation.

Our goal is to make sure that negligent people are held responsible for the accidents.