Michigan No-Fault Law – Attendant Care

Michigan No-Fault Law Attendant Care

MCL.500.3107(1)(a) states that “Allowable expenses consisting of all reasonable charges incurred for reasonably necessary products, services and accommodations for an injured person’s care, recovery or rehabilitation.”

One form of “care” provided to an injured party in an automobile accident is attendant care.  Attendant care is personalized care providing for the hygiene or medical care of an individual.

The insurance company is required to pay an hourly wage or fee to a person who helps with your personal hygiene or medical care if:

  1. Your doctor prescribes such a need;
  2. Your disability is such that you need nursing-like help such as bathing, personal hygiene care, disbursement of medicine, supervision due to head injury or physical ailment.

Pay of between $10 to $12 per hour is typical for a friend or family member who provides these services, or you can hire a professional nursing company to come and provide these services for you.

Michigan no-fault law - attendant care