Jackson, MI, Car Accident Lawyer

Home /  Jackson, MI, Car Accident Lawyer

Residents and people from out of town use Jackson’s roadways to get to work, drive their children to school, travel for enjoyment, and carry out daily tasks. Unfortunately, when people drive on the road on a daily basis, they also put themselves in peril and increase their chances of being in an accident. If you have experienced an injury because of a car accident in Jackson, an experienced Jackson, MI, car accident lawyer from Wigod & Falzon can help you get the compensation you are entitled to.

The knowledgeable and skilled personal injury team at Wigod & Falzon has long been helping car accident victims like you get the compensation they need after they have been hurt in a crash. We are here for you to understand your story and your losses. We can investigate your crash, helping collect evidence to prove the liability of other parties involved. From negotiations with insurance companies to representing you in the courtroom, a car accident lawyer from our law firm is here to serve you.

Understanding Car Accident Laws in Michigan

Having a grasp ofcar accident law in Michigan and understanding the impact it can have on your car accident settlement can be difficult. A dedicated Jackson car accident lawyer from our firm can inform you of how local and state laws may apply to your accident. Because Michigan is a no-fault car accident state, you will typically have to file a car accident claim with your own no-fault insurance policy first.

Only in certain cases in which the accident victim was severely injured can a case be brought against the liable driver. It’s important to note that if you are partially at fault for your Michigan car accident, you can still receive compensation for your damages. This means that if you are severely injured in an accident, but the court finds you to be partially at fault for the accident, you will be compensated for the percentage of the resulting damages that are proportional to your liability. The same logic applies to your car insurance claim.

If you are determined to be more than 50 percent liable for your car accident, you are not eligible to recover any non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering. Therefore, it is crucial to work with an attorney who has strong investigative and argumentation skills. An attorney with these qualities can convincingly prove the other parties’ liability to the judge or jury.

Can I File a Claim for a Michigan Car Accident?

Because Michigan is a no-fault insurance state, most car accident claims will go through your insurance company, regardless of who caused the accident. Furthermore, all drivers must have bodily injury coverage of at least $50,000 for an individual who suffers injury or death in an accident, as well as at least $100,000 for multiple people who suffer injuries or death.

By filing a claim in Michigan for your car accident, you can get access to coverage for non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering or disfigurement, as well as property damage expenses, like car repairs. To qualify for filing a claim, you will need to meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • The crash led to a severe impediment to bodily functionality.
  • The accident resulted in severe, permanent disfigurement or death.
  • The driver who was at fault for the accident does not reside in Michigan or have an insurance policy in the state.
  • The accident happened out of state.
  • The plaintiff is suing for car damages that do not exceed $3,000 that is not covered by their insurance, and the other driver is more than 50 percent liable for the accident.

If any of the above criteria are met, you can work toward getting the compensation you need through a third-party insurance claim or a personal property claim. In such a case, you can be entitled to various damages, including lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, disability, and disfigurement.

What Damages Can I Receive Compensation for After a Jackson Car Accident?

If you go through your no-fault insurance provider, you will not be able to receive compensation for all your associated car accident damages, such asnon-economic damages like pain and suffering. No-fault insurance does not cover damage resulting from an accident involving two moving cars, but collision coverage does. However, by pursuing a personal injury claim, the at-fault party or their insurance company can be held liable for the following damages:

  • Medical Expenses: Any expenses associated with medical treatment can be recovered, such as prescriptions, surgical fees, hospital bills, diagnostic tests and scans, medical devices, physical therapy and rehabilitation, clinic visits, and associated transportation fees.
  • Lost Wages and Benefits: If you’re out of work because of your accident injuries, you can fight to get back the wages and benefits that you lost as a result. In a claim, you can get paid for future lost wages and benefits as well.
  • Additional Care and Modifications: If you suffered a temporary or permanent disability because of your car crash, then you may have had to make modifications to your home, such as putting in a wheelchair ramp or adding a walk-in shower. Compensation from a claim can cover such expenses, along with at-home care that may be needed to assist with everyday tasks, such as cooking, cleaning, and driving.
  • Pain and Suffering: Many Michigan car accident victims experience emotional pain and physical suffering because of their injuries. Such non-economic damages can make up a large portion of a compensation package. Therefore, it’s important to work with a lawyer who can adequately value the extent of your non-economic damages to get you the compensation you are entitled to.
  • Disfigurement and Scarring: If you are facing permanent disfigurement or scarring of the body because of your car crash injuries, you can receive financial compensation for such damages. While no-fault insurance does not cover these non-economic damages, pursuing a claim can secure compensation for them.

A dedicated attorney from Wigod & Falzon can help you understand an optimal legal avenue for pursuing compensation for your car accident damages. They can assist you with seeking a settlement for as many of your associated economic and non-economic damages as possible.

How Long Do I Have to Sue for a Michigan Car Accident?

In Michigan, car accident victims typically have three years from the date their accident occurred to sue the at-fault party for damages. Any claim filed after the deadline will likely not be accepted by the courts, meaning that you can lose your right to sue if you do not do so on time. This period is known as the statute of limitations.

While the statute of limitations for personal injury cases, including car accidents in Michigan, is typically three years, this time can be subject to change, depending on the details of your case. A dedicated and knowledgeable attorney from Wigod & Falzon can discuss your case details with you, helping you understand the statute of limitations for your case as well as any other pertinent deadlines you may have.

Is Michigan a No-Fault Car Accident State?

Michigan is a “no-fault” accident state, making it more difficult to sue at-fault drivers for any damages they may cause in an accident. To legally drive in Michigan, drivers must have no-fault car insurance that can cover expenses for damages from their accident, including medical expenses and personal property damage. In case of a crash, this coverage would pay for their own damages, even if another party was responsible for the incident.

If drivers are caught without no-fault insurance, they can be fined up to $500 and may have to spend a maximum of one year in jail. Furthermore, drivers who don’t have adequate no-fault insurance could have their license suspended for up to a month or until they can show that they have adequate coverage.

Under no-fault car insurance in Michigan, any family member who is living in the policyholder’s household is covered after an accident. No-fault insurance also covers pedestrians and motorcyclists who are involved in a crash that includes the car of the policyholder if they do not have their own no-fault insurance policy plan.

If you have been involved in a Michigan car accident and are unsure about the extent of your no-fault coverage, a skilled car crash lawyer from our team can help you understand the amount that you are entitled to.

Do I Have to Report My Jackson Car Accident?

If you have gotten into a car accident in Jackson, then you may be wondering if it is necessary to report your accident to law enforcement. After all, for minor accidents, it can sometimes be simpler to negotiate everything outside of your insurance policy and the courts. However, this is generally not recommended, as you can lose your rightto get compensation for damages.

Furthermore, in Michigan, a driver must report a collision to authorities right away if it results in any form of injury or death. They are also required to report the incident if it resulted in property damage of $1,000 or greater. Failing to report an accident can result in criminal penalties. A devoted personal injury lawyer from Wigod & Falzon can help you understand whether you need to report your accident. They can also determine how to optimally get coverage for damages after your crash.

How Long Does It Take to Get Paid After My MI Car Accident Insurance Claim?

If you have been injured in a car accident in Michigan, then you will go through your no-fault insurance to get coverage for medical expenses, regardless of who was liable for causing the accident. The coverage is known as “personal injury protection” or “PIP,” and it can pay out up to the policy limits.

PIP claims can be paid for on an ongoing basis, in which the claimant can submit receipts showing proof of damages, like hospital bills. Under Michigan state law, the insurance company has roughly 30 days to pay the claim if there is reasonable proof of the damages and if the damages do not surpass the amount covered in the policy.

If you have suffered injuries from a car accident, a skilled car accident lawyer can help you file a claim with all the required supporting evidence so that you can get the coverage you are entitled to. They can negotiate with your insurance company on your behalf, helping you avoid all the associated bureaucratic issues. This can allow you to focus on your healing process and recovery.

How Much Does a Jackson Car Accident Lawyer Cost?

The cost of a Jackson car accident lawyer is dependent on a variety of factors, including:

  • The experience and skill of your legal representative
  • The location of the law firm
  • The complexity of your case
  • The extent and severity of your damages
  • The evidence showing the liability of the other parties involved
  • Your no-fault insurance coverage

A car accident personal injury lawyer will typically charge a contingency fee, which is a percentage that they will take from your final settlement if you win your case.

It’s important to work with personal injury attorneys who are honest and upfront about their pricing and who can help you anticipate any other upcoming costs, including court fees. By working with a car accident lawyer who is transparent about their costs, you can plan and budget accordingly. As most lawyers will not be compensated unless they win your case, this is an indicator of their confidence in their ability to win your case for you.

Obtain Compensation With a Skilled Car Accident Lawyer in Jackson, MI

If you have suffered damages from a car accident in Jackson, Michigan, you do not have to suffer the weight of the resulting financial burden. A loyal, skilled attorney from Wigod & Falzon can help you fight to have your damages covered, including economic and non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering. Don’t hesitate to start working with a member of our team today. Contact a car accident lawyer from our firm right away to start collecting evidence and building your car accident case.

Testimonials

100+
5 star Google Reviews

Call 248-356-3300 or Request Your Free Consultation

Fields marked with an* are required

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.